John Matthews was a long time friend of Len and Ann Lye and the principal founding member of the Len Lye Foundation. He worked with the artist as an engineer on sculpture projects. He is Managing Director of Technix Industries Ltd (New Plymouth) and a generous benefactor to the Foundation


Evan Webb (Director) manages the day to day running of the Foundation. For many years he has played a leading role in the maintenance and restoration of Lye’s kinetic sculpture. He is also involved in the distribution and sales of the artist’s films.


Andrew Clifford (Deputy Chair) is Director of Te Uru Waitakere Contempory Gallery in Titirangi. He worked previously as a curator at the Gus Fisher Gallery. He has a particular interest in art that combines sight and sound.


Wystan Curnow is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Auckland and a well-known art critic and historian. He knew Lye and has written about many aspects of his art.


Sarah Davy is a moving image archivist and Head of Operations at the New Zealand Archive of Film, Television and Sound Ngā Taonga Whitiahua Me Ngā Taonga Kōrero (Ngā Taonga Sound & Vision), the home of Len’s films. She works with the Len Lye Foundation on archival film projects such as the Len Lye Film Search (2005-2008).


Dr Ruth Harley, formally Chief Executive of the New Zealand Film Commission and CEO of Screen Australia, is a long time Len Lye supporter.  Ruth returns to the Foundation as a Trustee having previously been Ann Lye's alternate.


Max Gimblett is a New Zealand painter resident in New York. He was a close friend of Len and Ann Lye. He is the specific designee of the artist in terms of authorizing any future changes to the 1980 Deed of Trust.


Roger Horrocks is an Emeritus Professor of the University of Auckland. He once worked as Lye’s assistant. He is Lye’s biographer and has been involved in the restoration of his films.


Susan Hughes, QC (Chair), is a New Plymouth barrister. She has a strong interest in art and assists the Foundation in legal matters.


Simon Rees is Director of the Govett-Brewster Art Gallery, New Plymouth, and is thus responsible for the safety and well being of the Len Lye Collection. After 2002- 2004 when Simon was curator of contemporary art at the Govett-Brewster, he went on to work in galleries in Lithuania and Austria.

To contact the Foundation: